HCM - My sphynx was diagnosed - Advice please.

Discussion in 'Sphynx Cat Questions?' started by yoda&koko, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Offline
    yoda&koko

yoda&koko Lairian

Sphynx Bucks:
    $76.00
    This is my first time using this forum in a desperate attempt to find out more info on HCM and how others have gone through it. I got two sphynx kittens 2 years ago in Texas (a grey female that is growing hair, and a white/red male). We have been through so much,from traveling around the country with "to go" toilets as I was a traveling nurse, to riding in strollers, visiting family/friends, and illnesses (it seems only the male is always sick). He's had little things like skin rashes to big things like an ulcer in his eye,which he had surgery for last year in CT, with a long, slow recovery and a not so pretty eye anymore :( Well, these are the least of my concerns as I recently was told he has HCM (advanced stage). I brought him to the emergency vet as he was wheezing and not breathing well. The vet and I both thought it was an asthma attack but she wanted to get a chest X-ray just to be sure we are not missing something. And this is what signaled the heart disease,he was in CHF. So they kept him for the day, gave lasix to get the fluid off, got an echo, and finally let him go back home with me at night. About two weeks later (after being on meds), I notice his breathing isn't looking good again and as I listened to his lungs, I knew I had to bring him in. This ER doctor brought up the euthanize topic, but I wasn't ready at that moment. Now we are seeing a cardiologist (after a 3 week wait) who is trying to control the fluid build up. I now have injectable lasix at home for emergencies. He is doing fine now, active, loves to play, begs for treats all day long like usual,but I just don't know when it's time to let him go and/or what is going to happen from here. Am I going to come home to a dead cat? I don't want him to suffer, especially from a blood clot that could paraly