Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

A lot of Questions!

I understand these kitties are high maintenance. How high of maintenance would you rate them?

• Not at all, but still a lot of work with baths, they tend to play with the other animals just fine.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Medium amount, they do well on their own when they have to be.

Votes: 3 37.5%
  • High, I spend a lot of my time with my kitten/cat.

Votes: 4 50.0%
  • Very High, most of my time goes to them making sure they are okay.

Votes: 1 12.5%

• Total voters

Gaily

Lairian
Since I am new to being a Sphynx owner, (Still waiting for them)
I have a lot of questions i want to say.

Coconut oil, What is it for?

Best way to clean their claws?

How often do you give your Sphynx a bath? (A breeder told me once a month would be fine. just wondering how often i should.)

What good treats should be used. I cant do a raw diet right now so I wish to know what good treats would be used for training and rewarding.

Good food to buy that isnt dry food.

If You can, can you mix dry food with wet food? If not why?

Clothes for Sphynx? How much do you normally spend. and how many pairs should one get?

How friendly are Sphynx really? Do they warm up to strangers or do you have to introduce them to strangers?
The reason why i ask this is im hoping to get a Therapy cat and an emotional support animal.

Does your cats know any tricks. if so, How long did it take for you to train them?

Do you use litterbox or Toilet?

How well do they get along with other animals?

Do they get sick often? If so. how often?

ive been reading around and some of them stick and others im clueless on.

JSal

Senior Lairian
Senior Lairian
I use coconut oil to clean the ears.

Baby wipes are good for paws and wiping down other parts.

3-4 weeks on baths. It depends on your cat but the more you bathe them, the more oil they produce.

Clothes are optional. Blankets are a must.