Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Brown... brown... brooooown

Shea

Lairian
Hi guys! Newbie here- both to the forums and owning a Sphynx! One day our sweet Eoghan was thrust into our lives, and every day since has been better than the last. I never knew I could love a pet as much as I love him. That being said... this cat is BROWN.

He's a rescue, found outdoors dirty and freezing, and he eventually ended up in our care. Things have been going well, and this site has been a huge help! I've read that Sphynxes get oily and brown between washings and we wash him about twice a month without issue. He came to us FILTHY so we've been having to make a dent in the browning one bath at a time, so that we don't upset his skin. We just had him neutered and the issue is he couldn't be bathed for ten days when he was already due for a bath, and now he's just brown as heck!

I've tried coconut oil and cat wipes, and we wash him in unscented J&J no tears baby shampoo, but the brown on him is just unreal (we're also treating his stud tail currently). Is there any particular product out there for returning his cute pinkness that doesn't involve scrubbing? I don't want to upset his skin, so I'm kind of afraid of rubbing him down too hard!

Anyway, thank you for reading, and nice to meet you all!

Catzzzmeow

Administrator
Staff member

Shea

Lairian
Sure thing! It's a really REALLY unflattering photo, but I took it because he looked so silly and unlike himself. I'm gonna definitely check out D'Grease!

He's uh, not supposed to be that colour. When we wipe him down with wipes or coconut oil, the tissue/towel comes back brown :c

Attachments

• thyoHPr.jpg
    thyoHPr.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 354

MollysMom

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian