Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

brown teeth

hurley

Lairian
hi all, I've only had hurley 17 weeks old since last saturday, but i noticed that his teeth are quite brown and i think he is missing some, which i thought was a bit unusual, because normally puppies when they're young their teeth are pure white and thought would be the same with kittens. anyway.. i have him on hill science and also royal canin dry food and I've noticed he hardly chews it. is this normal?? I'm thinking of getting him raw chicken necks to encourage him to chew more. he's been great since we got him, although he mostly sleeps, maybe because he is cold. anyway, any suggestions to anything will be greatly appreciated, as I'm new to this breed. oh, also i was wondering about how to keep his skin moisturised i wash him etc but any tips on that too, thanks

PunkNdisorderly

Lairian
When we first got Godric at 4 months old all of his teeth were brown. My breeder warned me before I picked him up thankfully so I didn't get too much of a shock.. But my vet sure did! Anyway apparently it's just the oils on the mum that make this happen and most of Godrics baby teeth have now fallen out and been replaces with nice white teeth :) so maybe it's the same thing with yours? Although the fact that he is missing teeth already concerns me.

ilovemysphynx

Administrator
Staff member
Are the missing teeth baby teeth, that have not been replace by big teeth yet?
If so I would not worry, this is common.

hurley

Lairian
i took him to the vet yesterday and she said hes not missing teeth but that theyre just so small, im used to dogs sorry,:Pudently: and she said that she could see some growing that arent brown so its probably what you said and its the oils from the mum, that makes sense, besides that hes fine

butterb33rs

Senior Lairian
Senior Lairian