Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Can I do good here?

JadeSphynx

Lairian
Hey!

So I’m a hairless kitty momma of two. they are the absolute joys of my life. I have always been insanely allergic to cats and these little hairless babies allowed me to fulfill my dream of having a cat. My girl is spayed, but my boy is not as I have been letting the breeder continue to breed with him as he has been for the past 3 years before I brought him home.

Now my breeder friend is moving out of the country partly due to hardships with COVID. one of his girls just had a litter from my boy. He offered me payment, one of their kittens, or to take in his lovely girl and continue breeding the pair on my own after he moves away in a few months.

I have some experience with helping cats in birth and pregnancy (I worked in vets offices for a few years and helped with some friends cats). I would love to take in his girl and make sure she has a good home, and I would love to try and breed them for the love of the breed. I’m not really interested in shows or anything, just having healthy happy pets. Both cats have great bloodlines and a clean bill of health. What would I be getting myself into? I understand basics, but I really want to understand how to do it correctly and if it would be something beneficial for the cats and also something I would be capable of.

of course I’ve spoken with my breeder friend about it, but I feel like he may be making it sound a bit easier than it might be because he wants his girl in my home. He sees how much I care for my cats and I know he wants her to wind up in a situation like mine. I just want to do the right thing.