Goodbye My Finny Boy

Discussion in 'In loving memory of...' started by MyJezebel, Feb 10, 2018.

1. MyJezebel

MyJezebelV.I.P Lairian V.I.P Lairian

Sphynx Bucks:
    $9,999.22
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    I lost my sweet boy Finn early Monday morning to what was most likely a pulmonary embolism. He and I had been fighting for his life for over 6 years after her was diagnosed with Immune Mediated Hemolytic Anemia (IMHA) at 10 months old. Since this past October, we had been having trouble keeping his red blood cell count regulated. But beyond being a bit sluggish, there were no other symptoms.

In the few days leading up to his passing he began breathing a bit more rapidly when he would exert himself. This was attributed to his low red cell count because less red cells meant less oxygen being circulated in his body. The day before he passed, his breathing became more labored. I had him at the vet's office first thing in the morning. Chest radiographs, blood tests (minus his red cell count) and his physical examination were all unremarkable. They showed nothing abnormal. Again, low red blood cell count, combined with the high dosage of steroids that he was taking to attempt to regulate him, were suspected as the culprit. The plan was to wean him off the steroid to a lower dose to see if his breathing would improve. Unfortunately, he just continued to decline and we had him back at the vet the next afternoon. He never made it home and I am beyond devastated.