Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Help!

Hey everyone! Very new to the sphynx forum, my little dude just had his first birthday in August! With his first birthday comes the question of which adult food do I feed him? He's currently on the Royal Canin Kitten food, which is what he came from the breeder on. However with this he does have very loose stools, so I have been supplementing him with organic pumpkin at the recommendation of a friend, which works most of the time. After reading a few forums i can see that many sphynx have a sensitive gut, which I'm wondering if that is his issue....
I am concerned to start him on anything particularly as my little man has an enlarged heart :(
I would appreciate any feedback I can get!
Thanks so much,
Keep Calm and love a sphynx!
-Casey

Welcome to the lair :) What's your boy's name? Would love to see more pics! Can't advise on food and heart issues I'm afraid as I have no experience with this (knock on wood...) :confused: Do you give him any probiotics at all? My boy is 10,5 months old and I have started mixing in a pinch of dry adult food with his dry kitten food, so that he'll get used to it. I also use a probiotic with both Bifidobacterium and Enterococcus faecium, the first helping in the smaller intestine and the second for the colon to help firm the stool and keep gut bacteria levels healthy. Butchie's poop has been really healthy ever since I started him on that.

Thanks! I don't use any supplementation thus far but anything is worth a try! His name is Finn! I have attached a few, but my computer doesn't have any recent ones,my phone on the other hand don't even get me started... lol

Attachments

Catzzzmeow

Staff member
Welcome to Sphynxlair! A great rule of thumb is to feed the best quality food you can afford and they tolerate. Just like with people if there is detected heart issue, it is best to consult your vet and keep their weight under control.

NinaGato