Welcome to the Sphynxlair community! A community dedicated to the Sphynx breed!

Hugging my little girl

abbyknitter

Senior Lairian
Senior Lairian
I can't wait to get home today and just go hug my little bald baby. I am very upset right now and holding back tears:Cry:. With everyone loosing kitties and kitties getting sick-It just makes me so sad:Cry::Cry: I just want to go home and hug my baby.
I also just wanted everyone to know I love you all and (especialy if your baby is sick) you are all in my prayers everynight.

heather

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
I know it is very very heartbreaking. One thing that I always like to remember is this story which I'm sure many are familiar with. Although it is about a dog I think it applies to all companions.

"A Dog's Purpose (from a 6-year-old)

Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish Wolfhound named Belker. The dog's owners, Ron, his wife Lisa, and their little boy Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.

I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. I told the family we couldn't do anything for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

As we made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.

The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker's family surrounded him. Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on. Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.

The little boy seemed to accept Belker's transition without any difficulty or confusion. We sat together for a while after Belker's Death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives. Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, 'I know why.'