Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

I'm getting my first sphynx kitten this weekend, I feel nervous, is it normal?

Meggymason

Lairian
Hi so I'm fairly new at this and I am getting my first kitten ever.... and it just so happens to be a sphynx! My boyfriend and I live together and after falling in love with our neighbors hairless little dude we decided to adopt our own. I'm not sure why but every day I have been so gut wrenching excited but today knowing I am 3 days away from getting our kitten I feel so nervous. I can't even explain it. Did this happen with anyone else? Also how long will my kitten be crazy hyper for? There will be times when I'm in class that he will have to stay at home for 3 hours or so. I'm just so nervous and the last thing I want is to be a bad owner or to later down the road regret getting a sphynx. Any helpful hints for a newbie?

Catzzzmeow

Administrator
Staff member
Totally normal and I want to say congratulations on expecting! I am a seasoned Sphynx member (13 years) and I felt like a newbie when added to our family 4 years ago. I think it is the anxiety and excitement all wrapped up into one. The link to this part of the forum you might find helpful . Sphynx Cat Help Center

Looking forward to seeing updates.

Patti

Meggymason

Lairian
I am getting a male ( I think unless a lucky little girl steal our heart) but we are driving five hours to pick out a kitten from the breeder. They have 3 males and 1 female and we think we would like a male just because I heard males are more cuddly? Not sure about this though! Do you have males or females?

Catzzzmeow

Administrator
Staff member
We have had 1 male and females... it really boils down to how they are raised and the environment they grow up in. Just like humans each and every one is different. Be open minded and open hearted because your life is about to change forever.

Meggymason

Lairian