Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Light marks appearing on sphynx's skin

Kawiipops

Lairian
image.jpeg
Hi, I'm new to owning a Sphynx. Our boy Woody is 6 months old, and lately we have noticed small light marks are appearing on his legs and side of body. Does anyone have any ideas what they may be?
Thanks in advance.

Catzzzmeow

Staff member
Looks like natural pigmentation. Often as they get older and start sunning, some areas naturally darken and others areas remain lighter. None of the spots are raised or irritated?

This also usually happens in the darker Sphynx. It happened in our tuxedo girls at about 6 months of age.
ccdb836e0d07f0e6169a909288f28ef4.jpg
on body
ada0af9210e77c3b33e8d7aafb92432d.jpg
on head

You can see some white spots in this shot. They came out as soon as Spring came and she started hanging in the windows. Usually in the winter these disappear. She also gets some very dark splotches in warmer months as well.

Patti

Last edited:
U

user123

I know nothing about pigment, unfortunately. Just came here to say: Oh my WOWEE@Catzzzmeow, what a stunner you have there. :love:

admin

Administrator
Staff member
View attachment 67907 Hi, I'm new to owning a Sphynx. Our boy Woody is 6 months old, and lately we have noticed small light marks are appearing on his legs and side of body. Does anyone have any ideas what they may be?
Thanks in advance.
On our Leo who is similar in color, he also gets marks like this which is actually old scar tissue discoloeration where he may have scratched at one time. :)

smokeysphynx

Lairian
Smokey has the same thing - nothing to worry about! Like everyone else has mentioned, this is natural pigmentation (or lack thereof). What a beautiful baby up above in this thread as well!!!

GoldHazel

Gold Lairian
Notable Member