Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Meat Grinders for Raw Diet Cats

Hi! I am starting to do my own research on the topic of best meat grinders for making homemade raw cat food. I was wondering if anyone here loves their meat grinder, and if so, can you please share with me the brand and why? I am unsure of what to look for in a meat grinder.

I am placing my research notes here, in case anyone else is in the same boat as me in terms of research. I also will still welcome anyone on here's thoughts, suggestions and recommendations. I am very new to cat food/meat grinders, we are a vegetarian household!

Things to consider:
  • Can it grind bones? Look for a semi-commercial grinder
  • How many bones can it handle? 1200-1500+ watts or more
  • Price
Here is a list of my findings so far, based on raw cat groups:
  • TASIN TS-108 ELECTRIC MEAT GRINDER #12 -($170 - 1200 watts) "Grinds 30 lbs. chicken thighs & pork loin every 2 wks. For a year, holding up like new"
  • STX-4000-TB2-PD - STX International Turboforce II - ($200 - 2000 watts) "Works great chewed through 20 pounds of chicken thighs with bone in less the half hour, would of been faster but was sidetracked by poor starving kitty’s trying to help.. Weight 16 lbs and fits under my counter with pots and pans." ,"While this grinder can easily handle soft bones such as chicken, quail, rabbit or squirrel - it CANNOT handle hard bones such as beef, pork or turkey. "