Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Natural Instinct - UK Raw Brand

moodyxmoon

Lairian
Hi all!

Just wanted some feedback on the brand of food I've chosen and been using for Tak.

Its called Natural Instinct and I order it online frozen in bulk - so far I really think she enjoys it, and I must say its quite convenient to use.

I have looked into all the flavours and chosen only those with hearts and liver in (for the sake of taurine); and then was advised by my Vet to make sure she gets enough calcium.

So I went with a multivitamin powder that she gets the recommended kitten amount once a day as I'm new to raw and off of the top of my head don't yet understand the percentages and ratios - due to their being varied sources on the internet about it !

I let Tak eat as much as she wants four times a day as per packet directions as shes still only a young kitten, one of those meals contains the vitamin powder.

At the moment she is on the Beef and Chicken Flavour - the packet stats are as followers :

Ingredients
British beef heart (49.5%), British chicken with bone (44.5%) British beef liver(5%), Scottish salmon oil, sea kelp, bilberry powder, Brewer's yeast

Analysis
Moisture: 64.1%, Protein: 16.3%, Fat: 15.7%, Fibre: 1.0%, Calcium: 0.8%, Phosphorus: 0.5%, Sodium: 0.1%, Inorganic Matter 2.4%

In the Analysis section - are these the normal stats ( or good stats) for calcium ? Does she even need the multivitamin powder shes currently on. If shes getting an 'overdose' of vitamins will she just urinate the majority of them out - or will there be negative side effects?

I've just read this article which I was linked to via a raw portion thread - Don't Let Calcium/Phosphorous Ratios Scare You - Feline Nutrition Foundation