New sphynx owner with ♥️ Murmur

Discussion in 'Sphynx Cat Questions?' started by StacyM, Aug 4, 2018.

1. StacyM

StacyMLairian

Sphynx Bucks:
    $151.07
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi guys-
    I’m a new owner of a sphynx kitten. She is 4 month old and when I had taken her into The Cat Doctor I was told she had a heart murmur. She told me not to worry but come back in a month to have her listen again. We went back and it’s still there. Her records say it’s a 3/6. I am completely new to this. Is that bad? She has had a “cold” since we brought her home, 2 different antibiotics. Everything has cleared up but she sneezed ALOT! This might be TMI but long boogers are always flying out of her poor nose. She sounds raspy sometimes when she states playing real hard. Could this be due to her heart condition? I got a referral to the cardiologist but want to know if I go and spend that kind of money can they really do anything about it? The Cat Doctor was curious and took her back to try and and do an ultrasound on her heart and she said it looks like her left ventrical is large. I just love this kitten along with my girls so we want to do what we can.

• Hugs Hugs x 4

• Yoda mom

Yoda momModerator Staff Member

Sphynx Bucks:
      $95,866.71
      Ratings:
      +10,494
      • Butterflies
      • Red Sphynx
      • Pink Sphynx
      • Black Sphynx
      @StacyM Welcome to the lair family - want your baby'/ name ?

Many of us have kitties with heart murmurs - my vet is monitoring and no meds to -date
      Was told he is a "3" grade . Vet also told me this is subject -

Many live long lives with murmurs - kittens can have murmurs "ghost murmurs" they can outgrow
      @momdeeze and @Catzzzmeow may have some more insight to add .

Sphynx Cats and HCM

Did the vet mention any URI ? Not uncommon for newly brought home kitties of any age .
      I imagine it could be heart related but I would ask the vet to rule out an upper respiratory infection?