Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

New to sphynx kitten questions

Shannonartsy

Lairian
Hello my name is Shannon and my boyfriend and I just recently put a deposit down on a beautiful 4wk old girl. Obviously we can't bring her home for a few weeks but I am curious about her markings and that she is quite fuzzy ( a lot more than I expected) her parents are Canadian sphynx and I got to meet both of them. I am curious to know how she will change as she gets older. Right now she has pretty distinct tabby markings and she is very dark in color. Like I said before she is fuzzy which I know is normal but will she loose her fuzz? Do the stripes usually stay? I'm new to the whole thing so any advice on this would be appreciated :)

Attachments

GoldHazel

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
@Shannonartsy hello and welcome.

Your cute little baby girl's stripes will stay with her no matter how little or how much fuzz she has because the stripes on from her skin, not on the fuzz/fur.

Being that you met both her parents, how fuzzy were they? Did you ask the breeder any questions about her fuzz?

My personal experience is that they get more fuzzy from the time they are babies until at least a year old. Weather and time of year also plays a part in the amount of fuzz. In the winter, I find that some of my sphynx get more fuzz around the hip areas and parts of their tail. When the Springtime comes around, the hip fuzz goes away and depending on when we start with the A/C, the tail fuzz might stay.

Shannonartsy

Lairian
Thank you for the response! Both parents were that suede type feeling i guess more peach fuzz type and the mom was more fuzzy on her face and tail the dad was not. I did ask the breeder he said that most of the kittens end up like the parents. It was pretty vague to me but I guess no one can really tell till they grow up lol.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

GoldHazel

Gold Lairian
Notable Member