Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

New To The Breed, Is This Normal?

Snapcrcklpop

Lairian
I am new to the breed and I just wanted to get some opinions from you guys! My new kitten will be 17 weeks on Thursday. He came with a full bill of health from the breeder and has since seen the vet twice where he was pronounced healthy. I was always under the impression that kittens were very active, but this is the most lazy kitten in the world. He just wants to lie in your lap literally all day, and if my fiance or I get up he just follows us around a yells until we sit again. When we first brought him home we were seeing about 30 minutes of play out of him a day but now we are lucky if we get 5 to 10. He was neutered early so part of me thinks he is just a lazy kitten by nature. The breeder described him as laid back and mentioned that "he got a wild hair once in a while". He also has an odd feeding schedule; he will not eat dry food so we essentially are giving him all of the wet food he will eat right now. He eats a huge meal in the evening and he will more or less pick at his food the rest of the day until the evening comes again. He does not seem to be losing weight and my vet was not concerned about this so I guess that is just how he wants to eat? Lastly I am constantly wiping eye boogers out of his eyes and he seems to get congested and sneezy when it is chilly. The doctor took a look at the discharge when I first got him and said it was just normal drainage due to lack of eyelashes. I guess I just wanted to know if you guys thought I am being an over protective helicopter mom and that this is all just him being him? It's hard not to worry about him, he is so perfect and handsome :p

Catzzzmeow

Administrator
Staff member
The eye booger thing is correct. All of mine have them. The normal color for the discharge is a reddish orange kind of color. If it is yellowish/greenish it usually is a sign of an infection.