Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

New to the Sphynx Community!

LindsayFox

Lairian
Hi all,
I'm very new to the Sphynx community! I adopted Summer (a six year old, female Sphynx) yesterday. Any tips?

I noticed yesterday (the first day) she seemed very sad to have been rehomed. I put her on a cat bed yesterday and she didn't move for several hours, eyes open, but not moving. Now she's up and walking around, but hasn't seemed interested in the food or water I put out. She finally used the litter box about a half hour ago. About 10 minutes ago, she finally ate a treat that I left for her. She's starting to play with some toys I left out. Any tips on making her feel comfortable in a new home? I'm a little worried that she's not eating or drinking a little more, but I think she may still be nervous about being rehomed.

I've been reading quite a bit about the breed, but any information is welcome!

-Lindsay

admin

Administrator
Staff member
Hi all,
I'm very new to the Sphynx community! I adopted Summer (a six year old, female Sphynx) yesterday. Any tips?

I noticed yesterday (the first day) she seemed very sad to have been rehomed. I put her on a cat bed yesterday and she didn't move for several hours, eyes open, but not moving. Now she's up and walking around, but hasn't seemed interested in the food or water I put out. She finally used the litter box about a half hour ago. About 10 minutes ago, she finally ate a treat that I left for her. She's starting to play with some toys I left out. Any tips on making her feel comfortable in a new home? I'm a little worried that she's not eating or drinking a little more, but I think she may still be nervous about being rehomed.

I've been reading quite a bit about the breed, but any information is welcome!

-Lindsay