Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Only Raw?

We got our kitten from a raw only cattery; in other words, as soon as the kittens are weaned from their mother they are fed only raw along with some vitamins and amino acids. Now, we are ok with the raw but we are both teachers and as we head back to school and our kitten will be alone most of the day . We don't want to leave the raw meat out all day so we decided to leave her with dry food . When we informed the breeder she is recommending that we keep her on raw all day. Any ideas?

Condo commando

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
I've been feeding raw since 2013. You are correct that it can't be left out. I put food down in the morning when I get up, when I get home from work, and a little snack before bed. The cats know there's not a bottomless bowl so they eat it right away.

Toa and Ross

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
There are automatic feeders that keep the food cool for a few hours. Maybe you can see if that works for you.
When I had my boys on raw, I gave them raw food in the morning and in the evening. In between I left kibbles out for them BUT you have to be very careful with this. Cause kibbles and raw food are not going well together. There need to be 2-3 hours in between eating raw food and kibbles. You could do so with an automatic feeder that gives out kibble at noon.

We got our kitten from a raw only cattery; in other words, as soon as the kittens are weaned from their mother they are fed only raw along with some vitamins and amino acids. Now, we are ok with the raw but we are both teachers and as we head back to school and our kitten will be alone most of the day . We don't want to leave the raw meat out all day so we decided to leave her with dry food . When we informed the breeder she is recommending that we keep her on raw all day. Any ideas?
By the way, do you add any additives to the raw?

Yoda mom

Staff member