Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Outdoor. Safety

twizzler

Lairian
hi. I'm new to Sphinx lair. I have a 1 year old that was given to me as a gift. I just love him to bits!
I've had him ID Tattooed, although in retrospect I think I would have preferred a chip but it wasn't offered.
My Sphinx, Siris, keeps trying and occassionally is successful of getting outside.
I've been able to catch him so far.

My question is, is there something I can put on him to keep him from getting sun burned if he actually gets out.?

My intention is to never let him out. I'm afraid he might get hurt, or stolen

Thanks,
Lisa

Catzzzmeow

Staff member
Unfortunately there is no safe sunscreen that can be used on cats. The ingredients can be harmful if ingested, and you know how they always clean themselves. Best to try training your baby not to go near the door when you come and go.

Patti

Toa and Ross

Staff member
@twizzler hello lisa, welcome to sphynxlair for you and Siris. So Siris is an adventures kind of guy:). Is it possible for you to go out with him with a harness and leash? Or maybe you have friends/family with a garden surrounded by big fences where he can safely play outside.
My boys love to play in the garden so I searched for safe sun protection. I did find a website specially for sphynx with sphynx products. They say they have a suncream that doesn't harm cats when they lick it. But I googled all the ingredients and it turned out that the ingredients could harm the cats. So there are no safe sun protections creams unfortunally.

As you allready sunburn is not the only risk when Siris runs off so hopefully you can train him (with treats, canned air or a waterspray) to not run off.

Natasja

Yoda mom

Staff member
@twizzler , Great advice given-
He is a cutie! Looking forward to pics!
I would add to train him like a dog-