Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Purchasing a Sphynx kitten! HELP!

stephanie c

Lairian
Hello everyone,
I am in need of some desperate help! I have been researching the Sphynx breed for a couple months now in hopes of soon purchasing one. I am fascinated by them, they are beautiful cats with lots of personality! I have been in contact with various breeders in the past few weeks and i am having some trouble figuring out which may be reputable breeders.

What should i be on the look out for? Some scan for HCM others don't, should i stay away from the ones who don't? Does anyone know of any good breeders in the MA/NY area?

I am hoping to bring a new kitty into my family within the next few months. Any advice or information would be greatly appreciated! :)

zoinks

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
Welcome!! Here is what I look for in a breeder:
  • Scans for HCM yearly, and does not breed cats until both have been scanned
  • A reasonable contract, preferably with a health / HCM guarentee
  • Reputable! helps to have recommendations, a good website and online presence. (I search google for reviews on them too.)
  • Lets kittens go at a good age - no earlier than 12 weeks.
  • Open to answering questions, and if nearby - you paying visits. People underestimate the value of a breeder that will keep in contact with you once your kitten is home.
Something I wish I had told myself when I was looking.. be patient!! If you have to wait on a waitlist for a kitten, it could be a sign that the breeder is good. Don't go with a breeder who is sub par just because they have kittens available right now, I know it's tough when you see their cute little faces but try your best ;) .. finding a good breeder is so worth the wait! what is a few more months when you will have that cat for years to come.