Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Questions about Sphynx cat personality--any help appreciated!

ALD2K

Lairian
Hello SphynxLair. :)

I just lost my cat Luigi who was basically the "loaf" of my life. Before him I have had (and have) many "normal" cats with fur, so while I am an experienced cat mom I'm not experienced with Sphynxes beyond Luigi. I "inherited" Luigi from my brother who was his original dad.

Anyway, the wound is still very fresh for me so I am not yet ready to get another cat but I was wondering if all Sphynxes are like Luigi.

For example, he loved taking baths. He loved getting rubbed with his shampoo and would purr and purr.

He loved laying under blankets.

He slept on me every night and even tucked himself in like a little person! He would "find his comf" and just plop onto his side like a little human. It was the cutest thing.

Every time I sat, he would come up and sit on my lap or he would lie against me and let me cup his cute little butt in my hands and rest his head on my chest. :)

I know Sphynxes are all supposed to be very friendly, but I am just wondering if I get another one would they (generally) have the same or similar traits?

MelissaAlice

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
I have had 3 sphynxies .. My first was honestly the other half of my soul and I still feel her loss 4 years later.

While my girls are amazing and I love them beyond words they do not have quite the same "aura" as my Skully.

They like baths and want to curl up and sleep with me, sit and watch tv with me, follow me around everywhere .. there is still that difference. I can't tell you what it is or why. I just know that they aren't Skully. That's not to say that they aren't perfect little sphynxies; they are! I'm just trying to say that you clearly had a magical bond with Luigi and you can't hold another kitten to his standards.