Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Questions

DrJRobinson

Lairian
So, my kittens are fourteen weeks old now. They are brother and sister. I'm concerned about their playing. This is my first time owning cats, so I don't know what to consider normal. They "play" constantly, and it looks so rough. They both have scratches all over their bodies. I attempt to separate them occasionally, but they will cry until I reunite them. Whenever they are not "playing" or eating, they are curled up together sleeping. I presume they enjoy each others' company. Is there "playing" normal?

My second question concerns feeding. The breeder advised me to be careful of overfeeding. At first, I gave the recommended amount of food and distributed it three times daily. However, they seemed to be starving because they would constantly cry whenever I would go in the kitchen and would not stop until I gave them something more to eat. A few days ago, I purchased bulk feeders for food and water. I do notice they have been eating more than what I had been feeding them, but their begging has decreased significantly. Should I allow them to eat as much as they want?

Lastly, is it wrong to feed my cats small bites of what I am eating? They seem to really like sweets, and I have been weak in allowing them to lick the last bite of my desert.

marlene

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
Your kittens playing sounds perfectly normal. That's Mother Nature's way of preparing them to hunt and defend themselves. It will diminish when they enter adulthood but expect them to continue doing it to some extent for the rest of their lives.

I don't agree with limiting food for a kitten. They have huge food requirements to fuel their growing bodies. I've seen many fat adults but never a fat kitten. Let them eat as much as they want. If they have weight issues as adults then you can consider controlling their intake at that time.