Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Raw fed cats contracting TB in UK

Gisele

Lairian
Hi guys,

I'm a veterinary nurse in the uk, recently the veterinary industry have been concerned that a number of raw fed house cats in the UK have been diagnosed with TB (tuberculosis). The number has climbed to 6 reported cases so far, however there could be many more non reported cases.
The cats that have been affected are house cats that were fed well known, recommended, DEFRA approved, commercial raw food diets.
I am just here to ask any UK Sphynx parents to keep an eye out and please be careful when feeding raw.

The symptoms of TB in cats are as follows:
'intestinal infection usually results with inflammatory granulomas in the intestine leading to diarrhoea, vomiting, inappetence and weight loss'
'The lymph node swelling may be marked, and sometimes this is the only (or most obvious) sign. As the disease progresses, infection may spread elsewhere, including to the cat's lungs, and so may cause progressive coughing or difficulty breathing. Disease usually progresses slowly, and cats often develop lethargy and weight loss with disseminated infections' - icatcare.org

I'm aware these Symptoms can be present in a non TB infected Sphynx (especially diarrhoea), so please don't panic and just get your little one checked.

This is a relevant news article:
thetimes.co.uk/vetswarncatownersoverrawdiet

Last edited:

Xandria

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
Do you have any publicly available documentation yet? It's a little scary if it's coming from the same commercial supplier, but people need to know and facilities should be tested if there is a link. Yikes.

This is why I like making the raw myself. I know what goes into it.

Condo commando

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
I googled it. The TB is linked to raw beef. All the infected cats have a form of bovine TB.