Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Red Patches

kaylapolicelli

Lairian
Hello !
Happy to find this page and community.
I was supposed to pick up my new Sphynx baby yesterday however the Breeder sent me a photo of him with two red marks on his lower back . She thinks it’s from not rinsing him well enough after his bath , but wants to keep him for a few extra days to be sure .
Because I’m new to the breed , I was wondering if this is normal ( the red patches ) or should I be concerned its something else ?.
I’ve met him and have been sent photos just a few days prior without red patches.
I would love to here others opinions.
1BA31A76-4BA3-43EC-9860-450052429AC0.jpeg

Sheldon13

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
It does just look like a little skin irritation. What a great breeder to keep her to be safe about it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Catzzzmeow

Staff member
Kudos to your breeder. Did they mention if any of the others kittens had the same issue?

MelissaAlice

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
You're lucky to have found such a responsible breeder!
I'm sure its nothing to be too concerned about; could just be sensitive skin.

Anansi

Senior Lairian
Senior Lairian
I wouldn't be too worried you'll learn fast with these guys that everything blooms worse and you see every small knick or scratch because of the lack of fur. Orpheus is always giving him self tiny little scratches cause he hardly ever stops haha

Yoda mom

Staff member
@kaylapolicelli welcome to the lair family
Glad to hear you have a responsible breeder :)
Always best to err on the side of caution

Good idea to keep for a few extra days and make sure no more spots develop - amd to see if other littermates have any spots marks
(If so I would then ask to vet check to rule out any possibility of ringworm Just to be safe .)

Probably fine and kudos to your breeder
Look forward to gotcha say pics and tales! Do you have a name picked out ?