Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

Struggling!

Alexxxxandra4u

Lairian
Hi all!
I’m a veterinary nurse, however feel somewhat lost in terms of the best approach for our new kitty. My fiancé decided to adopt her from a breeder for free in exchange for pet sitting & knowing she would be going to a new home. (3 year old intact female.)

We got her a few days ago & I brought her with me to work due to loose stool with frank blood. Smells so bad we had to open windows. Well. I caught a little evil trichomonas under the microscope. $80 for compounded ronidazole.

How long will it take for symptomatic relief? I’ve been giving her diphenoxylate. Mixing pumpkin in with her food as well. I’ve got her and my other 2 cats on Natural Balance. Planning to add Fortiflora. Poor thing gets “poop tail” every BM. ALSO I’ve been adding lysine powder to her food since my fiancé said she sneezed a few times and has goopy eyes after long sleeps.

Has anybody else dealt with the parasite? Did the medication actually work? We’re there random episodes of diarrhea after the ronidazole course?
I know it doesn’t really go away and cats can be asymptomatic.

Also. Best shampoo & wipes for their skin? I’m a veterinary nurse who bought our first home 6 months ago so $7 for 25 wipes isn’t an option! Is there a specific baby wipe?

Does giving in-between wipey baths accelerate oil build up? Does coconut oil make them create more body oils? What are the best ways to keep her clean without irritating her skin?

I use Epiotic in her ears. Coconut oil to prevent drying out after bath.

I need tips
Thank you!

MollysMom

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
Have you looked into S. Boulardii as a probiotic? It is safe and what they sometimes give to humans with c. Difficile. We use it to treat diarrhea bouts.