Studding

Discussion in 'Introductions!' started by Hunters Mommy, Oct 27, 2009.

1. Hunters Mommy

Hunters MommyLairian

Sphynx Bucks:
    $322.00
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello Everyone! I am getting ready to start using my Hunter as a stud. I have never done this before and am not really sure how to go about it. I know I need to get a contract signed and want to make sure that the Queens he mates with have all of their vaccinations and things like that. I have 2 people who are interested in using him already. Does anyone have any other suggestions??

2. PitRottMommy

PitRottMommyBanned

Sphynx Bucks:
    $322.00
    Ratings:
    +287
    My best recommendation is to think this through long and hard before you decide to go about letting your man do his business with cats that you don't know alot about.

First off, a breeding male is more likely to spray. That increases the chance that your home will quickly become the biggest litterbox known to man. Not to mention the calling that you may encourage with breeding. This is the #1 reason adult cats are altered...because the owners finally get tired of the calling 24 hours a day and the spraying inside their home.

Secondly, there are diseases that are transmissable that you cannot be certain, even with decent testing, aren't being given to your cat. As a basic rule, Hunter AND the females need to be tested each time he's bred for feline aids and feline leukemia. As a responsible breeder, I'd expect that you've already had him (and you expect the owners of the females) to have already had their females scanned negative for hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Testing is the ONLY way to be certain that no one in the lines (Hunter and the females he'll breed to) has this heart condition which can be passed on genetically to the kittens.