Welcome to the Sphynxlair community! A community dedicated to the Sphynx breed!

The Royal Catio

Cleopatra Beers

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
It has been brought to my attention (thanks @Xandria) that we have never posted pictures of Cleo's and Marcus' favorite place in the Whole Wide World!! So here is a pictorial tour of The Catio.
First, a little history. (I'm a teacher: I cram history into everything!) When we bought this house in 2003, the back patio was a concrete slab with a tin roof. The backyard was weeds then, and it still is weeds--that is another story entirely. We had a white longhair cat, Kermit the Terrible, who loved to be outside. But one day, he was hit by a car. He wasn't killed, but his knee was dislocated and took almost 6 months to heal. We tried to keep him inside, but he hated it and escaped whenever he could. So we decided to enclose the back patio, so he could be outside, yet still be safe.
The patio was enclosed by a company here in Las Vegas, with panels that have baseboards that are about 16 inches high and solar screening to the roof. There are 2 screen doors for access to the yard, and a French door to the kitchen/dining area of the house. When we open both French doors, the feeling is that the patio is another room. We put a cheap rug in half the patio, and furnished it with catproof wicker furniture. The other half has our bistro dining set, storage bins, brooms and hoses, along with a drawing table. There are 4 cat posts scattered around. Everything stays out there year-round, and the posts have been there for about 7 years, through rain, freezes and scorching heat. And they still haven't broken down (yet).
Pictures! The French doors
IMG_1844.JPG

IMG_1845.JPG

IMG_1846.JPG

More to come...

Last edited:

Cleopatra Beers

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
More Pictures!
IMG_1847.JPG

IMG_1849.JPG

IMG_1850.JPG

IMG_1851.JPG