Welcome to Sphynxlair! Connect with Sphynx owners & enthusiasts around the world!

I get my 1st Sphynx tomorrow

beamom

Lairian
Hi all,
I am new to Sphynxes. I was contacted by my vet last week. My short haired tortie cat had died late May and my vet knew I had taken her in at age 16, 20 months prior. She asked me if a cat came in to be euthanized that didn't need to be if she could contact me about taking in the cat. Well, I didn't expect to hear from her so soon. I met Bea today, an 11 yr old Sphynx, and spent an hour with her. When they opened her cage door for me, she got right into my lap. She never looked at my face, though, is that odd or normal? She was quite interested in her surroundings at the animal hospital so I thought it might have been that.

I am going away to a workshop the end of July for 4 days, I hope she will have gotten acclimated to her new home by then and not miss me too much. I'll have my cat sitter friend come to visit her while I'm away.

susi794

Staff member
Welcome to the family! And bless you for saving Bea's life. I am sure she will pay you back tenfold for the love you're showing her.
Hugs,
Susi and my gang of animal kids

Alimoore

V.I.P Lairian
V.I.P Lairian
Congrats on your first Sphynx! Akali only took a day to get comfortable with my place but it depends on how big your place is and if you have any other pets. Be prepared when you come home because Bea is going to want lots of cuddle time. Akali is so needed after me being gone for just a few hours :LOL:

ZiggyStardust

Gold Lairian
Notable Member
Welcome! So sorry for the loss of your furbaby, but congratulations on your naked baby! It is wonderful of you to take her in and save her life. :ThumbsUp: Horrible to think that someone was euthanizing her when she didn't need to be. :Cry: Hope you'll post pictures soon!

Catzzzmeow

Administrator
Staff member
How wonderful you are saving this baby's life...you are blessed even more than it will ever be. Congrats.

admin